Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
    Wednesday, October 22, 2014

A rural municipality is a defined territory incorporated under The Municipalities Act. A rural municipality is created by a ministerial order that describes the municipal boundaries and divisions therein. Rural municipalities include hamlets which may or may not be organized.  A rural municipality is governed by an elected council that can hire staff to manage daily administration and maintain municipal services (e.g. roads, utilities, recreation facilities). A municipal council has the power to adopt bylaws.

  • to provide for the health and safety of the municipality's residents;
  • to decide what type and level of municipal services will be provided;
  • to control land development and zoning provisions;
  • to borrow money for municipal improvements; and
  • to set local tax policies and rates to cover the costs of municipal services.

The number of rural municipalities and organized hamlets can be found on the Types of Municipalities page.

Rural municipal boundary maps see our Municpal Boundary page.

Individual rural municipalities may be contacted using the Municipal Directory.

To view or buy a copy of The Municipalities Act or its related Regulations visit the Queen's Printer.

Guides, manuals and calendars for administrators and clerks can be found on our  Publications page.

Traditionally divisions are numbered starting in the south east corner of the municipality increasing numerically to the west then starting again in the east increasing to the west.  (PDF 38 KB)

(Queen's Printer)

Includes RM boundary maps, Northern Saskatchewan Administration District map and a map which has provincial, municipal and park boundaries as well as lake and water courses. 

The Municipal Directory lists the names of officials, addresses and phone numbers for municipalities.

© 2014 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.